Performances of DMK in Tamilnadu assembly elections

This resource conatains the view of about the party DMK and its performance in the elections that have been so far held in Tamilnadu and its performances in elections for every decade and the alliances that it had in these elections so far. The chief ministers from the DMK party so far held are mentioned below.

Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam party in Tamilnadu

Cravida Munnetra Kazhagam(DMK) is contesting in elections from 1962 when it came out of Dravida Kazhagam as a single opposing party. After that it has won the elections for the state for 5 times and it is also contesting for Lok Sabha from 1971. 1

Chairperson - M.Karunanidhi
Secretary - K.Anbazhagan
Leader in LokSabha - T.R.Baalu
Founded in - 1949
Headquarters - Anna Avrivalayam
Ideology - Social Democratic

Performances of DMK party in Elections of 1962 and 1967

DMK for the first time as single opposing party against Dravida Kazhagam contested in the elections for State Assembly in 1962 and it had won 50 seats under the combine campaigns of Dr.M.Karunanidhi and Dr.M.G.R. However it had lost the election in holding the power.

Thereafter, it then came to contest in 1967 elections and had great campaigns to win the elections. Finally it came out with majority seats of 137 constituencies and Dr.M.Karunanidhi became the Chief Minister and Dr.M.G.R was the Home Minister

All these elections were held for Assembly of Madras Presidency. But then it was renamed as Tamilnadu State Legislature.

Performances of DMK in Elections from 1971 to 1980

In 1971, DMK without M.G.R. contested in elections for Assembly of Tamilnadu in 1971. It had alliances with Indian National Congress, Communist Party of India and Muslim League. It won the elections with capturing 184 Constituencies and M.Karunanidhi became the Chief minister for second time.

After 6 years, in 1977 the elections for 6th Assembly was held. But this time DMK had no alliances and it was standing single. Hence it lost the elections to the assembly with only 48 seats. Thereafter in 1980 for the 7th assembly elections it had the ally as Indian National Congress but this too failed out as just won 37 seats in holding the power.

Performances of DMK in Elections from 1981 to 1990

For the 8th assembly elections in 1984 DMK had alliances with Communist Party pf India and Marxist Communist Party But this time also it lost the elections with only 24 seats to the assembly. And thereby, in elections for 9th assembly in 1989 it had no allies but wan the elections with outfitting 180 seats in majority to hold the power and Karunanidhi became the Chief Minister for the third time.

Performances of DMK in Elections from 1991 to 2000

In the elections for the 10 th assembly in 1991 DMK had allies with Communist party of India and Marxist Communist in addition with Tamil Munnetra Kazhagam but it lost the elections only winning 2 seats which was the ever worst performance for DMK in elections but in 1996 the elections held for 11 th assembly DMK mastered it with winning 173 seats in alliance with Tamil Munnetra Kazhagam. Karunanidhi became the chief minister for the 4th time as DMK won it for fourth time

Performances of DMK in Elections from 2001 to 2010

In elections held in 2001 for the Tamilnadu 12th assembly elections, DMK failed to get the majority as AIADMK won it devastatingly. It has just won 31 seats with alliances of Communist parties and United Party Alliances. But in 2006 , in the elections Dr. M. Karunanidhi became the chief minister for the fifth time as DMK won the elections in alliances with Indian National Congress and won 96 seats.

And thereafter DMK is contesting in the Election 2011 with confidence to win it with its allies.

Related Articles

Dravida Munnetra Kalagam(DMK) Constituency list in Tamil nadu election 2011

Tamilnadu state assembly election will be held on 13-April-2011.So all the political parties announces their constituency places where it will be participate. DMK announced their constituency list on yesterday(16-03-2011). DMK alliances with PMK,Congress,IUML,PKM,MMK. DMK’s constituency places are 119. The list of constituency was announced on yesterday and the List of Parties who are in the respective constituency will be announce on 17-3-2011.

Dravida Munnetra Kazagam - DMK History

This resource is an article about the history of DMK, full profile of Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam, Leaders of DMK, MGR's period in DMK, Mr.M.Karunanidhi and post period details.

More articles: DMK party Tamilnadu elections 2011 AIADMK


No responses found. Be the first to comment...

  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name: