Resources » Tamilnadu Politics and Tamilnadu government » Political Parties

Dravida Munnetra Kazagam - DMK History

Updated: Category: Political Parties
Author: Member Level: GoldPoints: 15 (Rs 10)

This resource is an article about the history of DMK, full profile of Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam, Leaders of DMK, MGR's period in DMK, Mr.M.Karunanidhi and post period details.

Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK)

Dravida Munetra Kazhagam (DMK) was founded in 1949 as part of breakaway from the party Dravida Kazhagam (DK) which was founded by C.N.Annadurai. Initially the DMK Party was statred by the joint venture of Dr.M.G.R and M.Karunanidhi. But from 1969 M.Karunanidhi became the sole propreitor of it an started to contest in elections.1

Chairperson of DMK party - M Karunanidhi

Secretary of DMK party - K Anbazhagan

Leader in Lok Sabha of DMK party - T R Baalu

• Founded in - 1949

Headquarters of DMK party - Anna Arivalayam

Profile of Dravida Kazhagam

In August 1944, E.V.Ramasamy (Periyar) created out the Justice PArty named Dravida Kazhagam Dr.C.n.Annadurai with initial Salem Conference and insisted an independent state for Dravidans named Dravida Nadu which lead to creation of Tamil Nadu. Later on they started to contest in elections that covered the areas of Madras Presidency.

Profile of Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam - DMK

2Dr.C.N.Annadurai with his disputed in the Dravida Kazhagam came out and laid the foundation for DMK to start a fresh party named Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam in 1969 at Royapuram in Chennai and with other few members. At that time Dr.M.G.R was a member of the party and he was campaigning form his party through his films being an actor. After Annadurai's period Dr.M.G.R came over to take the leadership position of the party and M Karunanidhi was his best advisor. But in 1972 Dr.M.G.R went out to start the Party Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam on his own with part of his old Members

Then so far DMK was under the leadership of Dr.M Karunanidhi and he has won so far the government for six times with his alliances. But later on after his death, there will be a dispute for holding the powers among his sons.

DMK MLA's of Present Government

• K Anbazhagan
• Parithi Ezamvazhuthi
• Arcot veerasamy
• M K Stalin
• M Karunanidhi
• K P Samy
• B Ranganathan
• T M Anbarasan
• S R Raja
• K Sundar
• Sankara Valli
• E A Sivaji
• M Jagan Moorthy
• R Gandhi
• Ezavazhagan
• A Chinnasamy
• DuraiMurugan
• Abdul Basith
• Sooriya Kumar
• E V Velu
• K Pitchandi
• R Sivanandam
• V Kannan
• Thirunavukarasu
• Saba Rajendran
• G Iyappan
• M R K Pannerselvam
• T Udayasooriyan
• A Angayarkanni
• T Senguttuvan
• K R K Narasimman
• V Mullaivendan
• P N Periannan
• C TamilSelvan
• S Arumugam
• A Rajendran
• K Chinnadurai
• K Ponnusamy
• S Mani
• P Prabavathi
• P Raaja
• O Subramaniyam
• A Soundrapandian
• K Ramachandran
• M Anbalakan
• R Tamilarasi
• I Periasamy
• P Kamaraj
• R Manickam
• K N Nehru
• M Pannerselvam
• K.K.S.S.R.Ramachandran
• Thangam Thennarasu
• Ponmudi
• K Periyasamy
• Ko Si Mani
• K R Periyakaruppan
• Malairajan
Related Resources:

Read related articles: DMK party   Tamilnadu elections 2011   

Did you like this resource? Share it with your friends and show your love!

Responses to "Dravida Munnetra Kazagam - DMK History"

Post Comment:

  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name:   Sign In to fill automatically.
    Email: (Will not be published, but required to validate comment)

    Type the numbers and letters shown on the left.

    Submit Article     Return to Article Index
    Copyright © SpiderWorks Technologies Pvt Ltd., Kochi, India
    All Rights Reserved.